Home Chess News 7th Capablanca Cup to be held over Easter

7th Capablanca Cup to be held over Easter


“The 7th edition of the Capablanca Cup has been postponed to a later date”
The long awaited 7th edition of one of Nairobi Chess Club’s most prestigious tournament gets underway this Easter weekend at the African Advanced Level Telecommunications Institute (AFRALTI) which is situated along Waiyaki Way, Nairobi.

Poster of the event.

This year’s edition will be run in 3 sections (Open, U1800, U1600) separated by the player’s rating.  Players who wish to play in a higher section can do so by paying an extra amount of entry fee.

Payments to be done by MPesa to 254-704-179797 (Airtel 254-733-733092) followed by registration on on 7th Capablanca Cup registration portal.

Deadline for registration is set for 13th April 2017.  Entries received after this date will attract a penalty of KES 400.

This year’s edition has been sponsored by long time supporter of Nairobi Chess Club Dr Mujahid Din in honour of his late dad  Mohamed Younis  Din who was a chess aficionado in his days.

Chess aficionado Mohamed Younis Din.

Another sponsor of this event is Aslam Adam who resides in the United Kingdom.

Aslam Adam in action during his recent visit to Nairobi.

Past winners in this event have been as follows;

1st winner was Humphrey Andolo – Kenya (1997)

2nd winner Jaswinder Singh – India (1999)

3rd winner IM Elijah Emojong – Uganda (2013)

4th winner Jackson Kamau – Kenya (2014)

5th winner Peter Gilruth – Kenya (2015)

6th  winner CM Haruna Nsubuga – Uganda (2016)

CM Haruna Nsubuga of Uganda in action on his way to victory in the 6th Capablanca Cup.