Home Chess Tournaments Olympian Larry Kagambi Grabs 56th Nairobi Chess Club Championship With Fine Display...

Olympian Larry Kagambi Grabs 56th Nairobi Chess Club Championship With Fine Display Of Fighting Chess


23rd & 24th August 2014 saw Nairobi Chess Club host the 56th edition of its premier event at the famous Braebun School, Gitanga Road, Nairobi.

Former Olympian Larry Kagambi beat a strong field of 78 players to win the 56th Nairobi Chess Club Championship with a perfect score of 5 wins out of 5 games.  The strong field included Mathias Ssonko of Uganda who represented his country at the just concluded 2014 Olympiad in Tromso, Norway.
Larry Kagambi was the 1990 Kenya Champion and has represented Kenya at the 1988 and 1992 Chess Olympiads.  He was Chess Kenya Secretary General for a number of years as well.
Larry Kagambi (right) in action
Other strong contenders included Peter Gilruth, and 4 players from the Kenya Olympiad Team, J Akello, G. Hinga, B.  Magana and J. Kamau, Riya Shah & Isabella Asiema.  Harold Wanyama a player from the Uganda National Team was also present.
Larry went home with a cash prize of KShs 20,000 plus Nakumatt Vouchers of KShs 6,000.  In second to fifth place was Mathias Ssonko, Mowlid Ahmed, Brian Kidula & Vincent Ngeno who each won KShs 10,350 plus individual trophies.
Aerial view of the playing hall
In ladies category Riya Shah was the winner with 3 points followed by Isabella Asiema,  Reanna Varsani & Subhika Grande who each won KShs 1,500. Top 3 went home with individual trophies.
In the Juniorcategory the winner was Subham Rai with 3.5 points followed by Dev Shah, Srinjay Mukophadyay & Ritvik Pendyala.  Top 3 went home with trophies.
Brian Adorwa in action
In the Challenger Category the winner was Matiko Chacha (KShs 2,000), followed by Jackson Okoth Ochieng (KShs 1,000) and then Kevin Owen (KShs 500).  They each went home with a trophy.
The total prize fund of this event was just over KShs 70,000 making it one of Kenya’s largest events in 2014.  The sponsor for this event were former Olympians Rodgers Adai with KShs 50,000, Aslam Adam with KShs 15,000 and Humphrey Andolo with KShs 5,000.  Gift vouchers were donated by Mr Vasanth.