Home Chess News 2nd Nairobi Gymkhana Junior Chess Championship

2nd Nairobi Gymkhana Junior Chess Championship


All roads lead to Nairobi Gymkhana Club this weekend when they host the second edition of their Junior Championship.

Poster of the event.

This event is expected to attract over 150 children with a strong contingent of upcountry players who will be keen to pick up the prizes on offer.

I have found out from the grapevine that there will be a special player in attendance who will be making his debut appearance.  Details to come in the next article.

Nairobi Gymkhana has once again proved that it intends to continue promoting chess which is great news for Kenyan chess players.

This event is being organised by veteran chess administrator Lawrence Kagambi of Waridi Chess Ventures.

Lawrence Kagambi (right) of Waridi Chess Ventures in action during the 56th Nairobi Chess Club Championship at Braeburn School. Photo dated 24th August 2014.

Nairobi Gymkhana’s last big event was the 2016 Millionaire Chess – Nairobi Edition which was held in July.  See story on 2016 Millionaire Chess Nairobi Edition.

Winners of the 2015 edition are shown below;

Under 14 Girls

1.      Srayva Vadrevu

2.      Fathima Mohamed

3.      Nikita Parikh

Under 14 Boys

1.      Sumit Deshpande

2.      Hardiv Karania

3.      Jeff Gichuki

Under 16 Girls

1.      Pranjal Parikh

2.      Reanna Paras Varsani

3.      Bhumija Srungarapu

Under 16 Boys

1.      Sunil Subramaniam

2.      Darshan Shah

3.      Alvin Mbugua

Under 18 Girls

1.      Sanjana Deshpande

2.      Saloni Karania

3.      Devayani Whavale

Under 18 Boys

1.      Austin Gathii

2.      Subham Rai

3.      Aravind Vengarai

Under 8 Girls

1.      Anushka Pattni

2.      Kylin Wangeci

3.      Joy Njeri

Under 8 Boys

1.      Ryan  Mugenya

2.      Shivum Desai

3.      Aahil Shah

Under 10 Girls

1.      Sana Santosh

Under 10 Boys

2.      Mohit Srungarapu

3.      Samuel Mugo

4.      Viraj Shah

Under 12 Boys

1.      Kim Caleb

2.      Yash Mayekar

3.      David Omonge

Best School Trophy category was awarded to Oshwal Junior High School.