Home Chess News Kenyans gear up for the 2017 Kenya National Chess Championship

Kenyans gear up for the 2017 Kenya National Chess Championship


The last Kenya National Chess Championships were held in 2015 when Ken Omolo and Riya Shah were crowned.  See story on 2015 Kenya National Championship.

The 2016 edition was not held due to bitter wrangles within the federation.

The 2015 Kenya National Chess Champion Ken Omolo in action.

The good news is that Chess Kenya have just released the following details on the 2017 Kenya National Chess Championship which will also serve as the first phase of the 2018 Olympiad Qualifiers.  The First Phase will be held from 19th to 22nd October 2017 over 8 rounds in Nairobi.

The 2015 Kenya National Ladies Chess Champion WCM Riya Shah in action.

The National Champions (Men & Ladies) will qualify directly for the Final Phase. If ladies are less than 24 in the first phase, then the number of shortlisted Lady players will be revised.

2005 Kenya National Ladies Chess Champion Linda Abur (in white T shirt) with her team from Riara School during the 2016 Oshwal Youth Chess Tournament in March 2016.

The 2nd Phase of the Olympiad Qualifiers will be held in Mombasa from 24th to 26nd November 2017 over 6 rounds to shortlist 10 players from each section for the Final Phase.

2013 Kenya National Ladies Chess Champion Sharanya Iyengar posing with world famous Kenyan athlete Ezekiel Kemboi during the 2012 SOYA (Sportsman Of the Year Awards)
2014 Kenya National Ladies Chess Champion WFM Sanjana Deshpande.

These 10 players will join the 2017 Kenya National Champions in the Final Phase, to make 11 players, who will play a single round robin to select the top 5 in both the Open & Ladies Section to form the team.

Four Kenya National Chess Champions in one photo! From left PN Odhiambo (1996), Humphrey Andolo ( 1993, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999), Benjamin Magana (2006 & 2013) & Peter Gilruth (2007). Photo from the 2008 Dresden Olympiad taken by Isaac Babu .

The Final Phase will be played over two weekends: 1st & 2nd December 2017 over 4 rounds in Kisumu and then from 9th to 12th December 2017 in Nairobi over 6 rounds to shortlist 5 players in each section who will qualify for the Olympiad in Batumi, Georgia, 2018.

2014 Kenya National Chess Champion Mehul Gohil.
2005 Kenya National Chess Champion Nathan Mukaka Ateka.
2003 Kenya National Chess Champion Mathew Kamau Kanegeni.
1994 Kenya National Chess Champion Lothar Nikolaiczuk.
1990 Kenya National Chess Champion Lawrence Kagambi in action during the 2015 Capablanca Cup.

List of past Kenya National Chess Champions is shown below;

1990 – Lawrence Kagambi

1993 – Humphrey Andolo

1994 – Lothar Nikolaiczuk

1995 – Humphrey Andolo

1996 – Philip Nicholas Odhiambo

1997 – Humphrey Andolo

1998 – Humphrey Andolo

1999 – Humphrey Andolo

2001 – Kenneth Ajode Omolo

2003 – Mathew Kamau Kanegeni

2005 – Nathan Mukaka Ateka

2006 – Benjamin Omondi Magana

2007 – Peter Gilruth

2013 – Benjamin Omondi Magana

2014 – Mehul Gohil

2015 – Kenneth Ajode Omolo

For the Ladies this is what we have

2005 – Linda Abur

2013 – Sharanya Iyengar

2014 – WFM Sanjana Deshpande

2015 – WCM Riya Shah