Home Chess News Kenya National Chess Championship 2017

Kenya National Chess Championship 2017

The Kenya National Chess Championship got underway on 9th December 2017 with 100 players in the Open and 24 players in the Ladies section at the Kenya Comfy Hotel located on the junction of Jakaya Kikwete and Ralph Bunche Road.
The top ranked player is CM Ben Magana who has came out of retirement to take part in this this event where the top prize is a massive Ksh 100,000 (USD 1,000) out of the total Ksh 265,000 (USD 2,650) prize fund.
In the ladies section the top ranked player is WCM Joyce Nyaruai.
The 2015 defending champions Ken Omolo and WCM Riya Shah are not participating.  No event was held in 2016 due to internal wrangles.
You can find more on the 2015 Kenya National Championship here – 2015 Kenya National Championship.
Other details of this event are shown below.
Dates: Saturday 9th –  12th December 2017
Venue: Kenya Comfort Hotel, Lenana Road, (off Valley Road) Nairobi
Rounds: 8
Time controls: 90mins+30secs increment per move
Registration deadline: 8th December 2.00pm Late entries will play from round 2
Payments : SENIORS – (REGISTRATION KES 1,000 & CK MEMBERSHIP 1,200) MPESA PAYBILL 400200 AC. 01134162629400JUNIORS – (REGISTRATION KES 600 & CK MEMBERSHIP 600) MPESA PAYBILL 400200 AC. 01134162629400
Prizes Open Section:
1st Ksh 100,000
2nd Ksh 50,000
3rd Ksh 25,000
4th Ksh 15,000
5th Ksh 10,000
Prizes Ladies Section:
1st Ksh 30,000
2nd Ksh 15,000
3rd Ksh 7,500
4th Ksh 5,000
5th Ksh 3,000
Best Junior
Ksh 5,000
Saturday 9th December
8.30am-8.55am Opening Ceremony
9.00am-1.00pm Round 1
2.00pm-6.00pm Round 2
Sunday 10th December
9.00am-1.00pm Round 3
2.00pm-6.00pm Round 4
Monday 11th December
9.00am-1.00pm Round 5
2.00pm-6.00pm Round 6
Tuesday 12th December
 8.00am-12.00pm Round 7
1.00pm-5.00pm Round 8
 5.00pm-6.00pm Closing Ceremony


1. FIDE tournament rules will apply. Chief Arbiter: FA Peter Duke Michieka King’oina (10801880)
2. The tournament will be run using the Swiss Pairing System in 8 rounds. Game points will apply: win 1, draw 0.5 and loss 0.
3. Time Controls of 90mins + 30secs increment from move one for both sections. Default losing time is 30mins for all rounds.
4. Tie breaks: Direct encounter followed by Buchholz (37) and Sonneborn -Berger (52). In the event of ties, prizes will be shared amongst the tied players.