Home Chess News 9th Capablanca Cup

9th Capablanca Cup


9th Capablanca Cup

Details of the 9th edition of the Capablanca Cup have been released.

The event takes place on the weekend of 12th & 13th January 2019 at the Goan Gymkhana Club, Ngara Road, Nairobi.

Poster of the 9th Capablanca Cup.
Poster of the 9th Capablanca Cup.

The event boast of a modest prize fund of KES 60,000 (USD 600).

The FIDE rated event will have two sections – Open and the U1700.  The time control will be 90 minutes to complete the game and it will have 6 rounds.  Players who are unrated can take part in the U1700 section.

Dr Mujahid Din is the main sponsor (KES 20,000) of this event in honour of his late father Mohamed Younis Din who was a chess enthusiast in his days.


Past winners

1st winner was Humphrey Andolo – Kenya (1997)

2nd winner Jaswinder Singh – India (1999)

3rd winner IM Elijah Emojong – Uganda (2013)

4th winner Jackson Kamau – Kenya (2014)

5th winner Peter Gilruth – Kenya (2015)

6th  winner CM Haruna Nsubuga – Uganda (2016)

7th winner Joseph Methu – Kenya (2017)

8th winner James Panchol – South Sudan (2018)


James Panchol wins 8th edition Capablanca Cup.

Joseph Methu wins 7th edition Capablanca Cup.

FM Nsubuga wins 6th Capablanca Cup.