Home Chess News Trans-Nzoia Regional Qualifiers

Trans-Nzoia Regional Qualifiers


Kenya National Youth & Cadet Chess Championship – Trans-Nzoia Regional Qualifiers

The Kenya National Youth and Cadet Chess Championships 2019 (KNYCC) Trans-Nzoia Regional Qualifiers was held on 16th February at Kitale School.


An impressive 300 students from 14 schools participated in the qualifiers.

Some of the schools were Jack and Jill School, Lamplighter School, St. Joseph’s Girls Kitale, St. Joseph’s Boys Kitale, St. Mary’s Kibabii Boys, Greenfield School and Loreto Convent Girls Matunda.  Others included Legacy School, Rayzon Schools, AGC Dorothy School, St. Monica’s Girls, Propoi Girls High School, Seeds High School and the host Kitale School.

The five round event was organised by Mat Chess Academy, under the auspices of Chess Kenya.

The below topped their respective age categories and received trophies and medals. They have also qualified for the Final Phase which will take place from 5th to 8th April in Nyeri County.

Prize giving ceremony.  From left Ombima Meshack of Lamplighter School, Paul Eseme of Kitale School  and Benard Wanjala President of Chess Kenya.
Prize giving ceremony. From left Ombima Meshack of Lamplighter School, Paul Eseme of Kitale School and Benard Wanjala President of Chess Kenya.

Benard Wanjala who is the Chess Kenya President was the Guest of Honour.

Prize Winners

Under 8 Girls

Grace Otube                                     Kitale School

Elizabeth Cassidy                               Kitale School

Pamela Kosala                                   Kitale School

Under 8 Boys

Elvis Kakoi                                         Kitale School

Bryn Barasa                                       Legacy School

Keith Anderson Rotich                       Lamplighter School

Under 10 Girls                                              

Tumaini Abuga                                   Rayzon Schools

Faith Favor                                          Kitale School

Mitchelle Luchivya                             Legacy School

Under 10 Boys

Bradley Baraka                                   Legacy School

Shallom Miracle                                  Legacy School

Vansh Manish Shah                            Rayzon Schools

Under 12 Girls

Purity Orero                                        Legacy School

Shannel Wambi                                   Legacy School

Precious Amani                                   Legacy School

 Under 12 Boys

Trevor Zackaria                                  Lamplighter School

Sheldon Kikechi                                 Kitale School

Warren Sambu                                    Kitale School

Under 14 Girls

Joy Lukala                                           Rayzon Schools

Stacy Cherono                                    St. Joseph’s Girls Kitale

Winnie Mukiri                                     Rayzon Schools

Under 14 Boys

Johnpaul Inyait                                   St. Joseph’s Boys Kitale

Grace Wanjala                                     Gracewell Academy

Gabriel Waititu                                   St. Joseph’s Boys Kitale

Under 16 Girls

Esther Cheptoo Sakong                      St. Monica’s Girls

Belinda Rono                                      St. Joseph’s Girls Kitale

Dorcus Kerubo                                    St. Joseph’s Girls Kitale

Under 16 Boys                                  

Sharille Roberts                                  St. Joseph’s Boys Kitale

Leone David                                       St. Joseph’s Boys Kitale

Khamis Benjira                                   St. Joseph’s Boys Kitale

Under 18 Girls

Dorcus Wanjala                                   Loreto Convent Girls Matunda

Naomi Yano                                        Loreto Convent Girls Matunda

Nicole Chepkemoi Kiplagat               St. Monica’s Girls

The next regional qualifiers will be the Mt. Kenya Region to be held on 9th March 2019.


Standings & Results.