Home Chess News All African Games to feature chess

All African Games to feature chess


All African Games

All African Games 2019 have released more information on the event, which takes place in Morocco, from 23rd to 29th August 2019.

Six players will now make up a team.

Four players in a mixed team (2 men and two women; no reserve players).

One head of delegation.
One coach.

The team’s competition will take place during from 24th to 27th August.  A blitz tournament, split in two categories (men & women) will take place on 28th August.

FIDE Technical delegate: GM Mohamed Al Mudahka (Qatar).
Appeals Committee chairman: Dr Hesham Elgendy (Egypt).
Fair Play committee chairwoman: Tshepiso Lopang (Botswana).

African Chess Federations will need to make the proper arrangements with their respective Olympic Committees to confirm the participation of their national chess team.

Logo of the 2019 African Games.
Logo of the 2019 African Games.

Team Kenya

Chess Kenya has already hosted the trials to select the team for the event. The selection was on the assumption that there would be a separate team for the Open and the Ladies section of 5 players each.

The players selected were;

Open Section
Mehul Gohil.
Ricky Sang.
Joseph Methu.
Jackson Ndegwa.
CM Ben Magana.

Ladies Section
WCM Joyce Nyaruai
WFM Sasha Mongeli
Gloria Jumba
WCM Lucy Wanjiru
Daphne Mwikali

This development of mixed teams is an exciting idea but will come as a shock to the players who have initially qualified.

Historical information

The African Games, formally known as the All-Africa Games or the Pan African Games, are a continental multi-sport event.  The event is organised by three major organisations and held every four years.

African Union (AU), Association of National Olympic Committees of Africa (ANOCA) and the Association of African Sports Confederations (AASC) are the organisers.


Official Site African Games.

African Games 2019 – Chess form

All Africa Games Final Day 3 report.

All Africa Games Final Day 2 report.

Amos Simiyu wins AAG Phase 2.