Home Chess News Joseph Methu wins the 7th Capablanca Cup

Joseph Methu wins the 7th Capablanca Cup


Joseph Methu kept his cool in the final and decisive 6th round of the 7th Capablanca Cup when he held Vasanth Ramesh to a hard fought draw to ensure that he took the top spot.

The 6th and final round game between Joseph Methu and Vasanth Ramesh (right in white shirt).

Joseph Methu finished with 5/6 to end up in joint first with Peter Gilruth who also ended up with 5/6 but with a lower tie break.  They each went home with a cash prize of KES 12,500 (USD 125) and a trophy.

Gilbert Rono in action.

The event attracted a total of 26 players in the tough Open section over 6 rounds with the top seed being Peter Gilruth of Nairobi Chess Club and who is rated 2182.

Ahmed Mowlid from Eastleigh Chess Club in action.

In the U1800 a total of 29 players battled it out over 6 rounds with Ernst Otanga scooping the top prize with a clean 6/6 to go home with KES 7,500 (USD 75) and a glittering trophy.  Mushfig Habilov and Kiri Gilruth both of Nairobi Chess Club were in joint second place with 5 points.

Ernest Otanga (right) receives his trophy and cash prize from Kim Bhari (Chairman of Nairobi Chess Club & organiser of the event) for winning the U1800 Section with a clean 6/6. Photo credit Bhavani Shankar of CSB of CSB Photography.

The biggest upsets of the event was when Peter Diing defeated hot favourite Peter Gilruth in their round 2 encounter.

Peter Diing the Executive Director of the South Sudanese Chess Federation in action.

The event was sponsored by Dr Mujahid Din in honour of his late father Mohamed Younis Din who was a chess enthusiast in his days.  See story on 7th Capablanca Cup sponsor’s story and other details.

Omar Sirat from Eastleigh Chess Club in action. Eastleigh Chess Club had sent a contingent of their 5 strongest players for this event.

The other sponsor of the went was long time Nairobi Chess Club supporter Aslam Adam from London.

CEO of Terrian Chess Academy Brian Kidula (left) presents winner Joseph Methu with his prize. Photo credit Bhavani Shankar of CSB Photography.
Happy winners pose with their trophies and prizes.
Final standing of Open Section.
Final standing of the U1800 Section.